Walter Mather Award

2012 Award Winners

John Howes

Rick Roberts

At the ABC Annual Conference in Naples, Florida in September 2012 John Howes and Richard (Rick) Roberts were nominated and chosen by the ABC Awards Panel comprised of a select group of Trustees, Brokers, and Lead Underwriters.

John Howes was selected as an award recipient for his many years of leadership and dedication to ABC. The ABC's first coordinating broker was JH Minet and John saw the move from Minet in the 1980s through to Crawley Warren, on to Benfield and then to Cooper Gay in 2008. Each move and the great majority of the ABC program renewals since 1955 have seen John's involvement and guidance for which the market has been truly appreciative.

Rick Roberts was also selected as an award winner for his service to ABC, and was especially commended for his forward thinking and innovative leadership. Rick has participated on the ABC Board of Trustees since 2008 and for many years has been instrumental in ABC marketing initiatives. In 2012, Rick was elected ABC President and was part of the leadership team which created the Innovation Committee.

ABC and Cooper Gay & Co Ltd are delighted to bestow the award in its inaugural year to these two fine recipients.